Summertime

I’ve had a busy summer “vacation.” Typically I like to take a big trip somewhere. Past summers I’ve gone to Europe for a month or California for awhile. Last summer I finished my Masters! This summer I knew a big trip wasn’t going to happen, plus my sister is having a baby and some good friends are getting married. So, I signed up for some extra tasks.

I’m excited because next year, my 5th year teaching, will be my first year where I return to a position that looks largely like my position did the prior year.

I have been working on:

1. Special Education Handbook

I am part of the team that is creating one for our district.

2. Xoom Learning Group

I have a Motorolla Xoom that I am familiarizing myself with and trying out apps that I will use next year in the classroom and during team meetings. I am excited to get this into the hands of my students. I see portable learning devices like tablet computers and smart phones having tremendous capabilities at helping students with disabilities compensate for their deficits.

3. Technology and my PDP

I’ve been playing around with different technological tools and thinking about how I will use them in the classroom, to support learning, as professional development tools, and to improve my organization. Some of them include:

Diigo

Google+

Springpad

Twitter

Dropbox

Achieve 3000

Finally, blogging, Google Docs, and Google Calendar.

4. Reading Program

I am combining what I’ve learned by observing other reading teachers, books I’ve read, and curricular programs I am familiar with into a program that needs to be effective with 7th and 8th graders that continue to struggle with (and often dislike) reading.

5. Co-teaching 7th grade Language Arts

I am collaborating with another teacher at my school to prepare for co-teaching this upcoming school year. 

6. Organizing, organizing, organizing

I organized many, many files in my classroom. I also am organizing digital files on my work computer, home computer, and Google Docs.

7. Reading, reading, reading

I am reading articles that have gathered on my desk over the school year. I am reading teacher books. I am also reading popular YA novels and other books just for fun!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Summertime

  1. David

    Hi Codi! You’re doing a terrific job contributing to the special education handbook! In additon, you continue to be an innovative teacher! Thanks for all you do!

  2. Nora

    I’m envious of this list! Good luck 🙂 My own is quite a bit shorter, but still ambitious: Rosetta Stone – Spanish and PX-90 (to off set all the lounging I’ve done thus far this summer).

Leave a Reply

